Navigation:    Home arrow Forum arrow Monk Discussionarrow Monk Generalarrow Website not work safe ?

User Menu

Welcome Guest.






Lost Password?
No account yet? Register

Main Menu

Home
News
Forum
Search

Class Info

FAQ
Abilities
Quests
Guides

Polls

What race will you be?
 
What's your favorite martial style?
 
User Info
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
December 01, 2008, 07:44:54 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
News Box
Welcome to Vanguard Monks!

Key Stats
9260 Posts in 1001 Topics by 4097 Members
Latest Member: PeftDannymemn
Home Help Search Login Register
Vanguard Monks  |  Monk Discussion  |  Monk General  |  Website not work safe ? « previous next »
Pages: [1] Print
Author Topic: Website not work safe ?  (Read 690 times)
Fujitsu
Sensei
*****

Karma: +23/-20
Posts: 847


dustincfoley@live.com dfoley323
View Profile Email
« on: January 15, 2008, 08:52:28 PM »

Ive been informed that this website contains a meta tag and as such registers some work firewalls as NSF.  Any way we can get that changed?
Logged

Xenophon
Desciple
**

Karma: +1/-0
Posts: 48


View Profile Email
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2008, 09:45:23 PM »

I don't know much about it (I'm taking a course on web programming atm, so I'll know more over the next few months!), but I believe the meta tag has to do with how the site works with search engines.  If I understand correctly, it's needed in order to show up when people search for vgmonks, vanguardmonks, etc.  I could be wrong though, I'd also be interested to find out more about what that tag actually does.
Logged

Rainen Jitsu
Recruit
*

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 8


View Profile Email
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2008, 04:39:54 AM »

It's also possible that if this site is hosted on a server that hosts something that isnt safe for work (say a porn site or something), many filtering devices will block it based on the IP it shares with said site instead of the DNS name of the site.
Logged
RhoShan
Master
***

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 91



View Profile Email
« Reply #3 on: January 16, 2008, 06:18:43 AM »

I'm just glad this is one of the few sites that isn't tagged as a message board or game related... love being able to read up on things and learn more about Monk while i'm at work.  They're very quick to filter things where i'm at.
Logged

~It's not easy being this Sexy ;p


Dragon Monk lvl 50- Xeth server
    <Radiance>
Zzev Bellringer
Recruit
*

Karma: +0/-1
Posts: 9



View Profile Email
« Reply #4 on: January 16, 2008, 06:26:28 AM »

Ditto for me, Rho.  I seem to be able to get to these boards with no glaring access denied screen popping up.  Thank god our IT dept isn't as sophisticated as they like to think they are... or they could just be sneaky and the IT gestapo is on it's way to kidnap and interrogate me now...
Logged
RhoShan
Master
***

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 91



View Profile Email
« Reply #5 on: January 16, 2008, 06:31:23 AM »

Welcome aboard Zzev, just read your intro post a moment ago... i usually just view the site during hours when i know they're not overly active in IT, just to be cautious.  They scan what we look at, and in the past it's happened where they just blocked a site because it was deemed inappropriate Sad.  The whole reason i have internet at work is to keep my mind occupied... and VG Monks does it better than anything else short of playing VG Smiley.
Logged

~It's not easy being this Sexy ;p


Dragon Monk lvl 50- Xeth server
    <Radiance>
Zzev Bellringer
Recruit
*

Karma: +0/-1
Posts: 9



View Profile Email
« Reply #6 on: January 16, 2008, 06:47:27 AM »

/sigh

That is the hard part about reading about monkly goodness while at work... makes me wanna PLAY!
Logged
Zerathule
Master
***

Karma: +0/-0
Posts: 59


View Profile Email
« Reply #7 on: January 16, 2008, 06:51:07 AM »

Working for a very big company in France, every game site in french is blocked, but so far no game site in english have been blocked Smiley
I guess that if the guys in charge of blocking the access spoke english they would be doing another job  Grin

Regarding the original question, is there someone runing the site ? (from an IT point of view)
Logged
Pages: [1] Print 
« previous next »
Jump to:  

Powered by SMF 1.1.1 | SMF © 2006, Simple Machines LLC
Joomla Bridge by JoomlaHacks.com